BRIDES TO BE…OR NOT TO BE?

Click on images for larger view

I haven’t posted any of my own pics here for sometime. I’m not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing. No matter, I noticed this shop a few weeks ago, not far from my home, and I’ve been wanting to photograph it ever since. I don’t know about you, but I find these mannequins really sad. I’m not sure why. Perhaps it’s got something to do with the late afternoon light on a Sunday, or perhaps it’s knowing that no matter how long they wait, Mr. Right ain’t comin’ along and there’ll be no rescue. These pics bring to my mind the Kris Kristofferson song, Sunday Morning Coming Down. I’m quite fascinated by store mannequins. Not in a creepy way (this is no obsession). It’s just when I find some I think are interesting, or out of context, or whatever, I enjoy photographing them. I do not make a thing of hunting them down at all costs.

Is it just me, or does this make you feel somewhat sad, too?
Is it just me, or does this make you feel somewhat sad, too?
bridal gowns in shop window mellville johannesburg
They don’t seem too excited by their impending nuptials, do they?
wedding mannequin in shop window in melville johannesburg
Waiting for Mr. Right. Looks like it might be a long wait.

You can see a couple more from this shoot over at my Flickr stream.

© 2013. All images copyright Grahame Hall and may not be used without written permission of the copyright owner. Please respect the rights of others.

2 thoughts on “BRIDES TO BE…OR NOT TO BE?”

  1. Maybe it’s just that late Sunday afternoon kind of melancholy that crept over me when I was taking these shots. Kinda made me feel as though I was looking at an Edward Hopper painting, although, of course, his famous Night Hawks is set late at night, not late afternoon.

Leave a Reply

