WHAT TO DO IN THE EVENT OF A SHARK ATTACK

It’s not every day that one of my photo’s is usurped for an April Fool’s gag. Maybe that’s because, thankfully, April Fool’s Day only comes ’round once every 365¼ days, or 366 days if it’s a leap year.

Anyway, the other day I was alerted to a pingback on my blog which, naturally, I had to follow, being the naturally curious fellow I am.

It led me to this post on Look4it Knysna, by local radio DJ, Pieter Cloete, where I was alerted, as you’ll read, to an April Fool’s gag someone some twit had Tweeted.

This is a screen grab of the original Tweet by “griffin @watkykjy” on April 1:

shark in knysna lagoon april fools tweet
Shark photographed in Knysna Lagoon on April 1? Perhaps not.

At first I wasn’t sure how to react. Should I be incensed that someone had “stolen” my picture for their nefarious attempt at an April Fool’s prank? Should I report the matter to the authorities? But what authorities – the Coast Guard (do we even have a Coast Guard in South Africa), the Sea Fisheries Institute (do they still exist?), the Kwa-Zulu-Natal Sharks Board (we definitely had one of those the last time I looked)…

In the end I decided to just let it go. No harm done, proper links in place anyway, and a small spike in my blog stats. A nice little laugh for us all. What the heck, it was April Fool’s after all.

Later, Griffin changed the pic, after a bit more Photoshopping, to this one (or maybe a giant octopus moved in and devoured the giant shark):

little octopussy in Knysna lagoon
Even scarier than the giant Knysna shark – a year’s supply of calamari on the hoof, as it were.

The un-doctored picture comes from a previous blog post. I’m looking forward to see what “Griffen @watkykjy” does next year.

Oh, and one last thing, “Griffin @watkykjy”; I don’t really think you’re a twit…I just thought the word worked well with “Tweeted.”

2 thoughts on “WHAT TO DO IN THE EVENT OF A SHARK ATTACK”

  1. I know this is old, but that wasn’t the original post, nor did he create the original image with the shark.

Leave a Reply

