Are photographers writers undervalued?

Validation from the Light Stalking website …I’m honoured.

Photographing the Confederations Cup soccer tournament final, Loftus Versveld, June 2009
Photographing the Confederations Cup soccer tournament final, Loftus Versveld, June 2009

I recently responded to this post about how photographers are often undervalued. I sent a link to my article to Light Stalking, where the original post appeared.

In the last line of my blog post I made this half-joking comment:

In closing, if Dsvonko (the article’s author) really wants to know what it’s like having one’s work devalued, he should try writing for living!”

The powers-that-be at Light Stalking were none too keen on my point of view, which I offered as an alternative opinion on the matter. I received a terse, dismissive, one-line reply from someone at Light Stalking (whom I won’t name as this is not a name-and-shame exercise) that brought this issue into sharp focus (if you’ll forgive the photographic pun).

Here is what Light Stalking told me, verbatim:

“I don’t pay my writers enough to put up with snark.” [Emphasis added]

Q.E.D.

P.S. I’ve made my living as a writer for the better part of 40 years, so I’m well-versed with the battles many writers sometimes experience to earn their daily bread.

©2016. All images copyright Grahame Hall and may not be used without my written permission. Please respect the rights of others.

Leave a Reply

