Some photographers want to buy equipment. This is what I want to buy

I do not suffer from GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). But that doesn’t mean there’s nothing photographic I lust after.

Beadwork
No, it’s not beads I want to buy. This is just a pic of gratuitous colour from my Flickr stream to brighten what would otherwise be a very dull blog post. There’s another gratuitous picture a bit further down, but it has a much better caption.

Flickr is for sale, according to this PetaPixel article. I want to buy it. I don’t have the money. If you, or anyone you know, has a spare few million US dollars lying around, (or some shiny, colourful beads that will impress the sellers) please let me know in the comments section below.

Or, if you are a banker or (ad)venture capitalist who could be interested in this little project,  you can also leave a note in the comments section.

Just for the record, Yahoo acquired Flickr in 2005 for a measly $25 000 000 (a paltry sum considering they paid a whopping $1 billion dollars for Tumblr in 2013! Tumblr is also in need of a major overhaul to regain its lost lustre, but at one time it was the fastest growing site on the Internet!)

I’m quite serious about this. Unless I can get my hands on the best photo-sharing site on the ‘Web, someone else will get their grubby little paws on it and they’ll just screw it up because they don’t understand what makes Flickr great. Eventually, it will just wither and die.

What Flickr needs at the helm is someone who not only loves photography, but also loves the Internet in general, social networking in particular, and Flickr most of all. I’m all of those. I have loads of ideas to make Flickr even better than it is right now. Not the kind of things people hate, the kind of things Flickr users have already said they want, and some things that will make it the world-beating photo site it should be.

Actually, if I was Marissa Mayer I’d keep Flickr and just appoint me as CEO. Why sell something that, with me as head honcho, will become a massive money-spinner without making users pay any more than they do right now? To paraphrase a controversial political campaign of recent weeks, I want to “Make Flickr Great Again.”

A workshop
With a bit of tinkering, Flickr will regain its once-preeminent status as the BEST place for your photos on the web. The secret lies in knowing what to fix and what to leave alone. Oh, and good marketing, too.

Actually, Flickr has been improving by leaps and bounds in the last couple years, but marketing for the service has been lacklustre, to say the least. Good marketing is vital for the success of any business, it’s not just something one tacks on to the product and hope it works. I’m no marketing slouch, but I also have access to some of the finest marketing brains on the planet, men and women who would love nothing better than to get involved in an exciting project like this because it’s a reputation-maker of note.

(If Yahoo wants to throw Tumblr into the deal as well and make me CEO of that,  I’ll fix both sites for the price of one. I cannot be any fairer than that!)

If you want to see some more of my gratuitous photography…

Where else would I be?

3 thoughts on “Some photographers want to buy equipment. This is what I want to buy”

  1. I don’t have the money, either, but I’ll gladly throw in all my beads. 🙂 Thank you for an insightful post — and for your hilarious photo/caption combos, too.

    1. Thanks for your kind comment, Heather. if I can bring a smile to someone’s day, well, you can’t really ask for any more than that, can you?

Leave a Reply

