How Photography Will Change With a Trump Presidency – And How to Edit Your Pictures to Stay Ahead of the Game

why-dont-we-do-it-in-the-road
There’s no doubt that photographers are now more confused than ever about what to shoot, as this picture proves. I’m sure there are some who would like to shoot the Trumpster himself! (Note to FBI and CIA: “shoot”, in this context, refers to exposing film or digital media to a light source for a brief period, usually about 1/125th of a second, for the purposes of capturing an image on said media). On hearing the news of Trump’s Shock Election Victory™, coming as it did hot on the heels of the Shock Brexit Vote™, they collapsed where they stood, some barely able to hold onto their cameras.

Of course, the big question hapless photogs are asking in this post-2016-election world is: is my memory card big enough? This is the same question shooters have asked since the dawn of digital, so, no change there.

There’s no doubt we awoke to a different world on November 9th, 2016. According to some commentators, it’s the end of the world as we know it. To others, it’s the beginning of an exciting new era.

But now it’s starting to feel as though every pundit is trying to Trump their opinion, regardless of their field of expertise.

So I thought I’d better weigh in, too, on behalf of photographers everywhere. Or not. As the case may be. Whatever. The headline above is nothing more than a bit of Tom Foolery, a bit of a leg-pull. Not to be taken seriously.

rosebank-bldg-02
I just thought you might enjoy this photograph of a modern building in the Johannesburg suburb of Rosebank. As far as I am aware, it isn’t owned by Donald Trump, but I figured if I could work his name into this caption, I might be able to score a bit of extra SEO juice. C’mon Google, play fair, here! I’m trying, dammit.

©2016. All images copyright Grahame Hall and may not be used without my written permission. Don’t be a doos*. Please respect the rights of others.

* The word “doos” is a South African, more specifically Afrikaans, word that, literally translated, means “box”. However, if I say to you “don’t be a doos,” I don’t have a cardboard carton in mind.

3 comments

  1. Oh, Grahame …. would it be inappropriate to say I think I love you? 🙂 Thank you for this must-needed levity, from the the confused photographers to the Shock Election Victory (TM), to your shameless keyword-stuffing in your photo captions. You win the internet for today. Well, MY internet, anyway. Thank you.

    PS: Beautiful photo as well. It took me a moment to process it because the building looks unfinished at first glance, but maybe that’s the point.

    • Wow, Heather, thank you so much for your kind words. And grateful if I’ve been able to give you something to smile about today. Not sure my wife would be too happy to hear of your feelings, though. 🙂

      • I’m not sure my husband would be thrilled either, Grahame. But of course I meant it in an artistic sense — so we can both tell our spouses our marriages are safe. 😉

Leave a comment